Missa ad Gentes: Maryknoll Centennial Mass - Choral / Accompaniment edition

Revised Order of Mass 2010

by J. Michael Joncas

English Words © 1969, 1981, 1997, 2010 ICEL. Published with the approval of the Committee on Divine Worship, USCCB. Setting © 2010 GIA.


Item #: G-7864     Status: Available

PDF for $7.00

$7.00 Ship

Vocal Forces: SATB, Cantor, Priest, Assembly

Accompaniment: Keyboard

Guitar: Yes

Separate Instruments: Flute, Oboe, Trumpet I in B-flat, Trumpet I in C, Trumpet II in B-flat, Trumpet II in C, Horn in F, Trombone I, Trombone II, Timpani, Guitar

Text Source: Revised Order of Mass 2010; Lectionary for Mass

Series: Mass

Difficulty Level: E/M


Missa ad Gentes was commissioned by the Maryknoll Community to celebrate their centenary. One of the most intriguing features of this setting is that the various movements musically represent both Maryknoll's United States heritage and the diverse cultures in which Maryknoll missioners serve. Some of the cultural influences represented include Portuguese, Hispanic, Russian, and Asian. The Eucharistic Acclamations can be done with organ, brass quintet, and timpani, intensifying an already sumptuous setting.

“It is my hope that the Missa ad Gentes will assist English-speaking Roman Rite Catholics to worship with new liturgical texts, faithful to their heritage but enriched by the great diversity of languages and cultures that make up the Church Catholic.”

-Michael Joncas
Brass quintet, timpani, flute and oboe parts are optional.

Categories: Choral Vocal

Rites: Penitential Act Form 3, Lord, Have Mercy / Kyrie, Glory to God / Gloria, Gospel Acclamation, Universal Prayer / General Intercessions / Prayer of the Faithful, Holy, Holy, Holy / Sanctus, Memorial Acclamation A / We Proclaim Your Death, Memorial Acclamati

Scored for: Brass, Mixed Ensemble, Percussion, Woodwinds

Ensemble/Orchestration: Quintet

Number of Pages: 64

Language: English; Latin; Spanish

Format: Softcover