Gregorian Suite for Organ

John Lee

Collection © 1954 GIA.


Item #: G-8436     Status: Available

PDF for $15.00

$15.00 Ship

Music Source: Introit based on “Cibavit eos”; Offertory on “Ave verum”; Elevation on “O sacrum convivium”; Communion on “Quotiescumque manducabitis panem hunc”; Postlude on “Pange lingua gloriosi”

Difficulty Level: E


This newly engraved edition of five simple pieces for organ can be played as a complete work or each piece can be played individually. The contents include “Introit,” which is based on Cibavit eos, the introit for the Solemnity of the Body and Blood of Christ; “Offertory” based on the short eucharistic hymn Ave verum; “Elevation” based on St. Thomas Aquinas’s antiphon O sacrum convivium, also for use on the Solemnity of the Body and Blood of Christ; “Communion” based on the memorial acclamation Quotiescumque manducabitis panem hunc, and with a final nod to St. Thomas Aquinas, “Postlude” which is based on his hymn Pange lingua gloriosi.

This work is particularly suited for the Body and Blood of Christ and Holy Thursday but can also be used for any celebration of the Eucharist.  

Categories: Organ

Liturgical: Holy Thursday, Body and Blood of Christ

Rites: Eucharist

Number of Pages: 16

Format: Softcover