A Festival of Hymns

by John Hatton, Carl Glaser, Lowell Mason, Georg Neumark, George J. Elvey

Arranged by: Robert J. Powell

Item #: G-7657     Status: Available

PDF for $40.00

Ship for $40.00

A wonderful suite for organ, brass (and/or strings), and timpani of arrangements of four classic hymn tunes. The suite consitsts of a flowing setting of duke street in 6/8 followed by a march-like treatment of azmon with some imitative writing, then a transition to the minor key and more austere character of wer ner den lieben gott, and finally a fanfare-like introduction to a grand setting of diademata.

This piece would be a great prelude for a hymn festival or concert. 

Music Source: John Hatton, ca. 1710–1793; Carl G. Gläser, 1784–1829; Lowell Mason, 1792–1872; Georg Neumark, 1621–1681; George Elvey, 1816–1893

Number of Pages: 24

Difficulty Level: E/M

Instrumental parts included: Trumpet I in B-flat, Trumpet I in C, Trumpet II in B-flat, Trumpet II in C, Horn in F, Trombone I, Trombone II, Timpani, Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello, Bass, Organ

Topical: Festive

Scored for: Brass, Percussion, Strings

Edition Format: Print

Copyright: Arr. © 2011 GIA.