My Account Pay Invoice View Cart/Checkout


Op. 82

by Johannes Brahms
Text Author : Friedrich von Schiller
Arranger : Kelly Crandell
Editor : Kelly Crandell

© 2013 GIA.

Brahms undertook this arrangement of his masterpiece Nänie for four-hand piano to allow his masterpiece to be performed by those without access to a full orchestra.


This four-hand arrangement allows for a more complex and expressive performance than the solo piano arrangement. Vance George's work with the music of Brahms has met with critical acclaim, winning a Grammy Award for Ein deutsches Requiem.


George's lifetime of study and decades of musical experience are reflected in the performance suggestions in the choral score. This edition offers new perspectives on this great masterpiece.

This edition is in English as well as the original German.

Four-hand piano

Series : Evoking Sound
Number of Pages : 32
Difficulty Level: M/D
Vocal Forces: SATB
Accomp : Piano

Language : English; German
Translator : Vance George
Topical : Death
Comments : Separate choral score (pages 30–43) included with full score (pages 7–29).

Status: Available
Item #: G-8607
Price : $5.95

Quantity :

Please share Nänie with your Facebook friends.

Customer Service | About GIA | Meet the Staff | Careers | Contact Us | Submissions
GIA Publications,Inc. | 7404 South Mason Avenue | Chicago, IL 60638
(800) GIA-1358 (442-1358) | (708) 496-3800 | Fax: (708) 496-3828
Hours of Operation: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. CST M-F
Copyright © 2017 GIA Publications, Inc.